Print This PageDouble Lines

Kürzlich angezeigt:

Hawi, Hawaii Island Hawi, Hawaii Island
Double Lines

Bamboo Restaurant and Gallery, Hawi

Bamboo Restaurant and Gallery, Hawi border

Hawi, Hawaii Island

Hawi, Hawaii Island

  • Name: Hawi
     
  • Was: Charmantes Städtchen mit einzigartigen Boutiquen, Galerien und Restaurants.
     
  • Wo: Nördlichste Stadt auf Hawaii Island

Verbringen Sie einige Stunden mit einem Bummel durch den friedlichen Hafen von Hawi. North Kohalas größte Kleinstadt ist vor allem als Fahrradetappe der jährlich im Oktober stattfindenden Ironman World Championships bekannt. Diese historische Stadt im grünen Nordzipfel der Insel war früher ein geschäftiger Umschlagplatz der ehemaligen Zuckerindustrie North Kohalas.

Heute findet man in Hawi einige hübsche Kunstgalerien, Boutiquen und Restaurants, die in den munter farbenfrohen Gebäuden ehemaliger Plantagen untergebracht sind. Hier finden Sie alles - handgefertigten Schmuck und Handarbeiten sowie hausgemachten Fudge und 100-prozentigen Kona Kaffee. Das Bamboo Restaurant & Gallery wurde einst zum besten Restaurant auf Hawaii Island gekürt und bietet sich hervorragend für einen Zwischenstopp an, um hier ein typisches Gericht der Inselküche zu kosten.

Nach Hawi erreichen Sie die Stadt Kapaau, in der die ursprüngliche King Kamehameha I. Statue steht. Wenn Sie dem Highway 270 weiter in östlicher Richtung folgen, gelangen Sie am atemberaubenden Pololu Valley Overlook buchstäblich an das Ende des Weges. Die unglaubliche Aussicht auf die nordöstliche Küste ist der perfekte Abschluss Ihrer Reise durch North Kohala.

Pring This PageDouble Lines
Double Lines

EXPLORE MORE

Double Lines
borderhawaii island imagesBamboo Restaurant and Gallery, Hawi

Hawi, Hawaii Island

 

Double Lines

Quick Facts

  • Name: Hawi
     
  • What: Charming town with unique boutiques, galleries and restaurants.
     
  • Where: Northernmost town on Hawaii Island

North Kohala

Spend a few hours browsing the peaceful haven of Hawi, North Kohala’s biggest little town, best known as the bicycle turnaround for the annual Ironman World Championship held every October. This historic town, set in the green northern tip of the island, was once the busy hub of North Kohala’s now defunct sugar industry.

Today, Hawi is home to a handful of charming art galleries, boutiques and restaurants set in colorful and lively plantation buildings. You’ll find everything here from handmade jewelry and crafts to homemade fudge and 100% Kona coffee. The Bamboo Restaurant & Gallery was once voted best restaurant on Hawaii Island and is a great stop for a fresh island style meal.

Beyond Hawi is the town of Kapaau, home of the original King Kamehameha I Statue. Continue driving east on Highway 270 and you’ll literally come to the end of the road at the stunning Pololu Valley Overlook. The incredible view overlooking the northeastern coastline will be the perfect way to end your journey through North Kohala.