Kunst und Kultur auf Oahu

Double Lines

Wenn Sie die Menschen Hawaiis kennen lernen möchten, sollten Sie Ihre Reise auf Oahu beginnen. Hier finden Sie einen wahren Schmelztiegel verschiedener Völker, Kulturen und Lebensstile, die durch den Spirit of Aloha vereint sind.

Die Geschichte und der Stolz der hawaiischen Ureinwohner sind an allen historischen Stätten auf Oahu spürbar. Bedeutende Sehenswürdigkeiten wie der Iolani Palace, die gegenüber liegende Statue von King Kamehameha I, die Statue von Duke Kahanamoku am Strand von Waikiki und das Bishop Museum feiern die bedeutsamsten Errungenschaften des Volkes von Hawaii.

Heute ist Oahu zum Schmelztiegel verschiedener Kulturen geworden, welche die Traditionen, Festivals und Nahrungsmittel der Insel vermischt haben. Während der Blütezeit der Landwirtschaft im 19. Jahrhundert kamen Arbeiter aus China, Japan, Russland, Korea, Puerto Rico, Portugal und von den Philippinen auf die Insel, um hier auf den Plantagen zu arbeiten und zu leben. Heute können Sie eine Kostprobe dieser Mischung der Kulturen genießen, indem Sie typische Gerichte der Insel probieren oder eines der vielen Festivals besuchen. Wenn Sie noch mehr über Hawaiis multikulturelle Wurzeln erfahren möchten, besuchen Sie lehrreiche Veranstaltungen im Hawaii Plantation Village oder eines der vielen schönen Museen auf Oahu.

Das Oahu von heute ist eine faszinierende Mischung von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Geschäftsleute treffen auf Bauern und Künstler. Östliche Philosophien treffen auf westliche Technologie. Musik, Tanz, Theater und sonstige Künste sind Allgemeingut. Besucher aus aller Welt treffen auf Einheimische, die hawaiische Traditionen und Bräuche aufrecht erhalten. Und während die Menschen auf Oahu das reiche Erbe der hawaiischen Kultur mit der Welt des 21. Jahrhunderts vermischen, entdecken Sie, dass der Spirit of Aloha im Herzen von Hawaii zeitlos fortbesteht.

Oahu Arts & Culture

 

Double Lines

If you’re looking to meet the people of Hawaii, Oahu is a good place to start. Here you’ll discover a true melting pot of diverse ethnicities, cultures and lifestyles bound together by the spirit of aloha.

The history and majesty of the Native Hawaiian people are evident throughout the historic places of Oahu. Significant landmarks like Iolani Palace, the King Kamehameha I Statue across the street, the Duke Kahanamoku statue on Waikiki beach, and the Bishop Museum celebrate the accomplishments of the people of Hawaii.

Today, Oahu has diverse cultures that have blended and transformed the island’s traditions, festivals and foods. As agriculture boomed in the late 19th century, workers from China, Japan, Russia, Korea, Puerto Rico, Portugal and the Philippines were brought to the islands to work and live on plantations. Today, you can experience this blend of cultures by enjoying Oahu’s local food or attending the island’s many festivals during your stay. To learn even more about Hawaii’s multicultural roots, take an educational tour through venues like the Hawaii Plantation Village or visit Oahu’s many fine museums.

The Oahu of today is a fascinating mix of the past and the present. Businessmen meet farmers and artisans. Eastern philosophies meet western technology. Music, dance, theatre and the arts in general are community treasures. Visitors from around the world meet locals still perpetuating Hawaiian traditions and customs. And while the people of Oahu blend the rich legacy of Hawaiian culture with the world of the 21st century, you’ll find the spirit of aloha remains as timeless as ever in the Heart of Hawaii.

  • 24-Hours in Waikiki

    With so much to see and do, you can go 24-hours in Waikiki with something to experience.
    • Entertainment on Oahu

      Oahu is Hawaii’s center for the arts, entertainment and events with something happening just about every week of the year.
      • Festivals of Oahu

        Oahu has more festivals than any other island, ranging from parades to cultural celebrations.
        • Historic Places of Oahu

          From Iolani Palace to Pearl Harbor, explore the historic places of Oahu and enrich your vacation to Hawaii.
          • Hula on Oahu

            See authentic hula throughout Oahu at seasonal festivals, competitions, luau and live performances at hotels and resorts.
            • Museums of Oahu

              Oahu is home to some of Hawaii’s largest museums and collections featuring art, artifacts and heirlooms from Hawaii and the Pacific.