Pring This PageDouble Lines
Double Lines

WEITERE ERKUNDUNG

  • Pearl Harbor
Double Lines

ÄHNLICHE TAGS

Double Lines
borderPearl HarborU.S.S. Bowfin

Pearl Harbor, Oahu

Double Lines

Kurzinfo

  • Name: Pearl Harbor
     
  • Was: Fünf historische Stätten zu Ehren der Ereignisse an diesem nationalen historischen Wahrzeichen
     
  • Wo: Central Oahu, etwa 30 Minuten von Waikiki entfernt
     

Central Oahu

„Gestern, am 7. Dezember 1941 - einem Tag, der in Schande fortleben wird - wurden die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika plötzlich und vorsätzlich von See- und Luftstreitkräften des Kaiserreiches Japan angegriffen.“ — Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Pearl Harbor, nach den einst dort geernteten Perlenaustern benannt, ist der größte natürliche Hafen auf Hawaii, ein „World War II Valor in the Pacific National Monument“ und der einzige Marinestützpunkt in den USA, der zu einem nationalen historischen Denkmal umbestimmt wurde. Der verwüstende Luftangriff auf Pearl Harbor kostete 2390 Menschenleben und Hunderte Verletzte und trieb die Vereinigten Staaten in den Zweiten Weltkrieg. Pearl Harbor ehrt dieses Ereignis einer geschichtlichen Wende mit den historischen Stätten von Pearl Harbor:

USS Arizona Memorial
Um 8.06 Uhr am 7. Dezember 1941 wurde die USS Arizona von einer panzerbrechenden 1760 Pfund (798 kg) schweren Bombe getroffen, die das vordere Munitionslager in Brand setzte. Die sich daraus ergebende katastrophale Explosion versenkte das riesige Schlachtschiff in neun Minuten und tötete 1177 Besatzungsmitglieder.

Heute ist das USS Arizona Memorial eine Stätte des Lernens über den historischen Angriff. Erweisen Sie den tapferen Soldaten, die an diesem Tag ihr Leben ließen, die gebührende Ehre. Fangen Sie beim Besucherzentrum an, wo Sie sich einen Film über den Angriff und Gedenktafeln zu Ehren der an jenem schicksalhaften Tag verlorenen Leben ansehen können.

Nehmen Sie dann das Shuttle-Boot zum USS Arizona Memorial, einem schwimmenden Denkmal, das über dem gesunkenen Rumpf des Battleship USS Arizona erstellt wurde, der endgültigen Ruhestätte für einen Großteil der Schiffsbesatzung. Im Schreinraum sind auf einer Marmorwand die Namen der Gefallenen der USS Arizona verzeichnet. Dies ist ein ergreifender und beeindruckender Raum, wo Besucher Angesicht zu Angesicht mit der zerstörenden Auswirkung des Krieges konfrontiert sind.

Battleship Missouri Memorial
General MacArthur nahm am 2. September 1945 auf dem Surrender Deck des Schlachtschiff Missouri Memorial die bedingungslose japanische Kapitulation an, die den Zweiten Weltkrieg beendete. Jetzt am historischen Liegeplatz der Schlachtschiffe in Pearl Harbor vertäut, ist die schwere „Mighty Mo“ ein lebendes Museum mit Exponaten aus drei Kriegen und fünf Jahrzehnten Dienst.

Erkunden Sie die Decks des 60.000 Tonnen schweren Schlachtschiffs, das drei Fußballfelder lang und zwanzig Stockwerke hoch ist. Auf dem „Surrender Deck“ sehen Sie die Dokumente, die den Krieg beendeten. Nehmen Sie an einer Tour teil, um nicht allen Besuchern zugängige Bereiche zu sehen. Verpassen Sie nicht die erstaunlichste Ausrüstung des Schiffs: die gewaltigen 16 Zoll (41 cm) Kanonen, die eine 2700 Pfund (1225 kg) Granate 23 Meilen (37 km) weit feuern können.

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park
Die U.S.S. Bowfin (SS-287) ist eines der 288 US-U-Boote, die während des zweiten Weltkrieges im Pazifik im Einsatz waren. Erkunden Sie das 10.000 Quadratfuß (929 m2) große U-Boot-Museum, um etwas zum Kampf unter der Wasseroberfläche zu erfahren. Eine Tour durch den Park führt Sie zu einem Denkmal zu Ehren der im zweiten Weltkrieg gefallenen U-Boot-Matrosen sowie zu Ausstellungsstücken wie interaktiven Kanonen und Torpedos.

Steigen Sie an Bord der USS Bowfin, auch als „Rächerin von Pearl Harbor“ bekannt, für einen Panoramablick über den Hafen. Gehen Sie unter Deck und durch ein authentisches U-Boot zur Besichtigung des Torpedoraums, des Maschinenraums und der Schlafkojen. In den klaustrophobischen Unterkünften der Bowfin können Sie sich vorstellen, was es bedeutet, auf einem U-Boot im Einsatz zu sein.

Pacific Aviation Museum
Das Pacific Aviation Museum ist in den ehemaligen Flugzeughallen aus dem zweiten Weltkrieg auf Ford Island in Pearl Harbor untergebracht und ist ein umfassendes Luftfahrtmuseum mit interaktiven Simulatoren und Ausstellungsstücken zur Darstellung der Geschichten hinter den authentischen Kampfflugzeugen und Bombern des Zweiten Weltkrieges.

Machen Sie sich mit dem Luftkampf im Hangar 37 bekannt, einem 42.000 Quadratfuß (3902 m2) großen Hangar, der den Angriff auf Pearl Harbor überstand. Sehen Sie sich Flugzeuge wie einen authentischen japanischen Zero und einen B-25B Bomber an, ähnlich dem, der in der berühmten „Doolittle Raid“ auf Japan 1942 dabei war. Im Pacific Aviation Museum sehen Sie den Krieg mit anderen Augen.

USS Oklahoma Memorial
Das am 7. Dezember 2007 eingeweihte USS Oklahoma Memorial ehrt die 429 Besatzungsmitglieder, die beim Angriff auf Pearl Harbor ums Leben kamen. Etwa neun Torpedos trafen „The Okie“ und brachten das 35.000 Tonnen schwere Schlachtschiff in nur zwölf Minuten zum Kentern.

Einige Besatzungsmitglieder waren in ihren Kabinen unter Deck gefangen, nachdem das Schiff kenterte. Sie benutzten Hammer und Schraubenschlüssel, um Rettungskräfte an der Oberfläche zu alarmieren. Zwei Tage nach dem Angriff wurden 32 Männer aus dem gekenterten Rumpf der Oklahoma gerettet.

Pearl Harbor, Oahu

Pearl Harbor

  • Name: Pearl Harbor
  • What: Five historic sites honoring the events occurring at this National Historic Landmark
  • Where: Central Oahu, about 30 minutes from Waikiki

75th Commemoration on the Attack on Pearl Harbor

The December 7, 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor (and other airfields on the Island of Oahu) by Japanese naval air forces precipitated America’s entrance into WWII, a global conflict that impacted the world. Forever a symbol of American resilience and our resolve to defend freedom, the annual commemoration of the attack on Pearl Harbor fosters reflection, remembrance and understanding.

As the 75th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor approaches, the event that triggered American involvement in WWII, there will be several special events held to honor the sacrifice and dedication of our “Greatest Generation”. December 7, 1941, the “date which will live in infamy,” changed our nation forever. The events of that date triggered our resolve as a nation, our can-do attitude and resourcefulness, and an unmatched commitment to the defense of freedom.

Understanding history, both the events and the impact generated, inspires reverence and an emotional commitment to seek peaceful solutions to conflict. Thus, a key focus of the 75th Commemorations will be to inspire a brighter future in our relationships not only with other nations, but between and among all people.

Learn more about the special events commemorating the 75th Commemoration on the Attack on Pearl Harbor.

“Yesterday, December 7, 1941 — a date which will live in infamy — the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan.” — Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Pearl Harbor, named for the pearl oysters once harvested there, is the largest natural harbor in Hawaii, a World War II Valor in the Pacific National Monument and the only naval base in the United States to be designated a National Historical Landmark. The devastating aerial attack on Pearl Harbor resulted in 2,390 dead and hundreds wounded, and drove the United States into World War II. Pearl Harbor honors this history-changing event with the Pearl Harbor Historic Sites:

USS Arizona Memorial
At 8:06 a.m. on December 7th, 1941, the USS Arizona was hit by a 1,760-pound armor-piercing bomb, which ignited its forward ammunition magazine. The catastrophic explosion that resulted sank this massive battleship in nine minutes, killing 1,177 crewmen.

Today, the USS Arizona Memorial is a place to learn about this historic attack and pay your respects to the brave soldiers that fell that day. Begin at the Visitor Center where you can watch a film about the attack and view plaques honoring lives lost on that fateful day.

You’ll then take a boat shuttle to the USS Arizona Memorial, a floating memorial built over the sunken hull of the Battleship USS Arizona, the final resting place for many of the ship’s crew. In the shrine room, a marble wall exhibits the names of the men who lost their lives on the Arizona. Poignant and powerful, this is a place where visitors come face to face with the devastating effects of war. Learn more about the Pacific Historic Parks.

Battleship Missouri Memorial
General MacArthur accepted the unconditional Japanese surrender that ended WWII on September 2, 1945 on the Surrender Deck of the Battleship Missouri Memorial. Now located at Pearl Harbor’s historic Battleship Row, the massive “Mighty Mo” is a living museum, with exhibits spanning three wars and five decades of service.

Explore the decks of this 60,000-ton Battleship, three football fields long and twenty stories tall. Stand on the Surrender Deck and view the documents that ended the war. Take a tour and get special access to restricted areas. You won’t want to miss the ship’s most stunning feature: towering 16-inch guns that could fire a 2,700-pound shell 23 miles. Learn more about the Battleship Missouri Memorial.

USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park
The U.S.S. Bowfin (SS-287) is one of the 288 U.S. submarines that carried out the war in the Pacific during World War II. Explore the 10,000 square foot submarine museum to learn about the battle under the seas. A tour of the grounds will take you to a Waterfront Memorial honoring submariners lost in WWII as well as interactive gun and torpedo exhibits.

Step onboard the USS Bowfin, also known as the “Pearl Harbor Avenger,” for a panoramic view of the harbor. Step below decks and walk through an authentic submarine, touring its torpedo room, engine room, and sleeping quarters. In the Bowfin’s claustrophobic quarters you may ask yourself if you have what it takes to be a submariner. Learn more about the USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park.

Pacific Aviation Museum
Located within former WWII airplane hangars on Pearl Harbor’s Ford Island, the Pacific Aviation Museum is an immersive aviation museum complete with interactive simulators and exhibits showcasing the stories behind authentic WWII fighter planes and bombers.

Explore the battle in the skies in Hangar 37, a 42,000 square foot airplane hangar that survived the Pearl Harbor attack. See planes like an authentic Japanese Zero and a B-25B Bomber, similar to the one used in the famous “Doolittle Raid” on Japan in 1942. Gain a new perspective on the war at the Pacific Aviation Museum. Learn more about the Pacific Aviation Museum

USS Oklahoma Memorial
Dedicated on December 7th, 2007, the USS Oklahoma Memorial honors the 429 crewmen who lost their lives in the Pearl Harbor attack. Approximately nine torpedoes hit “The Okie,” capsizing this 35,000-ton battleship in only twelve minutes.

Some crewmen were actually trapped in compartments below deck after the ship capsized. They used hammers and wrenches to signal rescue crews on the surface. Two days after the attack, thirty-two men were rescued from the overturned hull of the Oklahoma.