borderDuke Kahanamoku Statue, WaikikiDuke Kahanamoku Statue, Waikiki

Helden von Hawaii und ihre Statuen

 

Double Lines

King Kamehameha I, Duke Kahanamoku, Saint Damien und Saint Marianne gehören zu den Helden der Geschichte Hawaiis. Sie werden heute mit ikonischen hawaiischen Statuen geehrt.

Duke Kahanamoku

Duke Kahanamokus legendäre Schwimmkünste verhalfen ihm Anfang der 20. Jahrhunderts zu fünf Olympiamedaillen. Er war auch einer der ersten Beach Boys von Waikiki, die den ersten Besuchern von Oahu das Surfen und Kanufahren beibrachten.

Später machte Duke das Surfen populär und verbreitete den Spirit of Aloha in der ganzen Welt. Seine Statue am Kuhio Beach gegenüber der belebten Kalakaua Avenue heißt alle Besucher mit offenen Armen auf Waikiki willkommen.

King Kamehameha I

Kamehameha wurde in North Kohala auf Hawaii Island geboren. Er vereinigte 1810 während einer Zeit des wachsenden westlichen Einflusses die Hawaii-Inseln zu einem einheitlichen Königreich. Seine legendäre Stärke und Tapferkeit als Krieger wurde durch sein diplomatisches Geschick und seine Liebe zum hawaiischen Volk gemildert.

Es wurden vier Statuen für König Kamehameha in Auftrag gegeben. Die berühmteste steht vor dem Aliiolani Hale (gegenüber dem Iolani Palace) in Downtown Honolulu auf der Insel Oahu. Die zweite steht in der Nähe seines Geburtsortes vor dem North Kohala Civic Center auf Hawaii Island. Die dritte steht im Wailoa River State Park in Hilo auf Hawaii Island. Die letzte Statue befindet sich in der National Statuary Hall in Washington D.C.

Saint Damien

Der belgische Priester Pater Damian kam 1873 in Molokai an. Die mit der ansteckenden Lepra-Krankheit infizierten Inselbewohner wurden gezwungen, auf der entlegenen Kalaupapa-Halbinsel zu leben. Nach sechzehn Jahren selbstloser Pflege der Bewohner von Kalaupapa erkrankte Pater Damian selbst an Lepra. Aufgrund seiner selbstlosen Arbeit wurde er im Oktober 2009 in Rom heilig gesprochen.

Seine drei Statuen befinden sich vor dem State Capitol in
Downtown Honolulu auf der Insel Oahu, vor der St. Joseph’s Church auf Molokai und in der National Statuary Hall in Washington D.C.

Die seliggesprochene Saint Marianne Cope
Father Damien war nicht allein mit seinem leidenschaftlichen Einsatz für die Lepraopfer in Hawaii. Mother Marianne Cope war die Leiterin ihres geistlichen Ordens und hatte sich bereits als fähige Verwalterin des St. Joseph Hospital in Syracuse, N.Y. erwiesen, bevor sie und die anderen Ordensschwestern von Saint Francis auf Bitte von King Kalakaua im Jahr 1883 nach Hawaii reisten. Ein Jahr nach Ihrer Ankunft wurde sie aufgefordert, das Branch Hospital in Kakaako auf Oahu zu leiten. Im gleichen Jahr gründete sie das Malulani Hospital auf Maui. 1885 gründete Mother Marianne das Kapiolani Home für obdachlose Mädchen, die zurückgelassen wurden, als ihre an Lepra erkrankten Eltern auf die entfernt gelegene Halbinsel Kalaupapa, Molokai, verbannt wurden. Im Jahre 1888, einige Monate vor dem Tod von Father Damien, schloss sich ihm Mother Marianne in Kalaupapa an, wo sie nicht nur sein Lebenswerk fortführte, sondern auch viele eigene Neuerungen einführte.


Mother Marianne wurde am 21. Oktober 2012 heiliggesprochen. Heute überblickt ihre Bronzestatue im Kewalo Basin Park in Honolulu das Meer.

Pring This PageDouble Lines
Double Lines
Back to Topics
borderDuke Kahanamoku Statue, WaikikiDuke Kahanamoku Statue, Waikiki

Heroes of Hawaii and Their Statues

 

Double Lines

King Kamehameha I, Duke Kahanamoku, Saint Damien and Saint Marianne were heroic figures in Hawaii’s history. They are honored today with iconic Hawaii statues.

Duke Kahanamoku

Duke Kahanamoku’s legendary swimming ability helped him to win five Olympic medals in the early 1900’s. He was also one of the first Waikiki Beach Boys, watermen who taught first-time visitors to Oahu how to surf and canoe.

Later in life, Duke went on to spread the popularity of surfing and the spirit of aloha to the world. His statue, which is on Kuhio Beach facing lively Kalakaua Avenue, welcomes all visitors to Waikiki with open arms.

King Kamehameha I

Kamehameha was born in North Kohala on Hawaii Island. He united the Hawaiian Islands into one royal kingdom in 1810 during a time of increasing western influence. His legendary strength and ferocity as a warrior was tempered by his diplomatic skill and his love for the Hawaiian people.

There are four commissioned statues of King Kamehameha. The most famous stands in front of Aliiolani Hale (across from Iolani Palace) in Downtown Honolulu on the island of Oahu. The second is located near his birthplace in front of the North Kohala Civic Center on Hawaii Island. The third stands in Wailoa River State Park in Hilo on Hawaii Island. The last statue can be found in National Statuary Hall in Washington D.C.

Saint Damien

In 1873, Belgium priest Father Damien arrived in Molokai. Islanders afflicted with the contagious Hansen’s disease were kept segregated here on the isolated Kalaupapa peninsula. After sixteen years of selflessly caring for the people of Kalaupapa, Father Damien himself succumbed to the disease. His selfless acts have earned him sainthood status and he was canonized in Rome in October 2009.

His three Hawaii statues are located in front of the State Capitol in
Downtown Honolulu on the island of Oahu, in front of St. Joseph’s Church on Molokai and in National Statuary Hall in Washington D.C.

Blessed Saint Marianne Cope
Father Damien was not alone in his passion to provide care for Hansen's disease victims in Hawaii. Mother Marianne Cope was head of her religious order and had already proven herself as a capable administrator at the St. Joseph Hospital in Syracuse, N.Y. when she and other Sisters of Saint Francis answered a request from King Kalakaua and traveled to the islands in 1883. A year after her arrival, she was asked to oversee the Branch Hospital in Kakaako on Oahu and in the same year, she established the Malulani Hospital on Maui. In 1885, Mother Marianne founded the Kapiolani Home for homeless girls who were left behind when their parents with Hansen's disease were exiled to the remote peninsula of Kalaupapa, Molokai. In 1888, a few months before the death of Father Damien, Mother Marianne joined him in Kalaupapa where she not only carried on his life's work, but also implemented many innovations of her own.

Mother Marianne was canonized on October 21, 2012. Her remains were moved to Syracuse, New York, in 2005 and returned to Our Lady of Peace Cathedral in Honolulu, Hawaii, in July 2014. Today, her bronze statue overlooks the ocean at Kewalo Basin Park in Honolulu.