Print This Page Double Lines

Kürzlich angezeigt:

Ökotourismus auf Maui Ökotourismus auf Maui
Double Lines
Vom Hof auf den Tisch Vom Hof auf den Tisch border

Ökotourismus auf Maui

Sie müssen kein Umweltschützer sein, um den Wert eines kleinen ökologischen Fußabdrucks zu verstehen, den Sie an den Orten hinterlassen, die Sie besuchen. Tatsächlich steht das in Einklang mit „malama aina“ (die Fürsorge für das Land), die für die Bevölkerung Hawaiis von großer Bedeutung ist.

Auf Maui ist der Respekt für das Land ein integraler Teil des Lebensstils, der nachhaltige Lebensmittel, die Erhaltung einheimischer Pflanzen und deren Verwendungszwecke sowie die Wertschätzung unserer natürlichen Umgebung beinhaltet.

Fahren Sie nach Upcountry Maui und gehen Sie in Kula zwischen den Lavenderfeldern und Protea spazieren, um deren Duft zu genießen. Oder drehen Sie im Kula Botanical Garden in den Gärten mit einheimischen Pflanzen die Zeit zurück. Fahren Sie weiter zum 30.000 Fuß hohen Gipfel des Haleakala. Vielleicht sehen Sie bei Ihrem Besuch sogar eine vom Aussterben bedrohte Nene (hawaiische Gans) oder eine Haleakala-Pflanze (Silberschwert), eine seltene Saftpflanze, die im Morgenlicht schimmert.

Im Iao Needle State Park auf Central Maui geht der feine Sprühregen auf die „Needle“ nieder und gibt diesem historischen Ort ein mythisches Gefühl. Das benachbarte Nature Center bietet eine einfache Wanderung durch den Regenwald und die Gelegenheit, mehr über das Leben im alten Hawaii zu erfahren.

Im Herzen (oder vielleicht besser gesagt im Magen) von Mauis Engagement für Nachhaltigkeit befinden sich viele Bauernhöfe und Ranches, die die „Vom Hof auf den Tisch“-Zutaten für die regionale hawaiianische Küche produzieren. Von Schokolade bis zu Ziegenkäse und Hochlandkaffee gibt es alles für den Gourmet.

Wo beginnen Sie? Maui bietet viele Farmtouren sowie Strände, Walbeobachtung und andere Aktivitäten. Oder begeben Sie sich abseits ausgetretener Touristenpfade und lassen Sie sich überraschen.

bordermaui imagesFarm to Table

Maui Ecotourism

 

Double Lines

You don’t need to be an environmentalist to appreciate the value of leaving a small footprint on the places you visit. In fact, you’d be in line with the Native Hawaiian concept of “malama aina” or caring for the land.

On Maui, respect for the land is an integral a part of our local lifestyle, whether it’s dining on sustainable foods, preserving native plants and their many uses, or simply appreciating the gift that is our natural environment.

Take a drive to Upcountry Maui and you’ll find yourself in Kula strolling among sweet fields of lavender and vibrant protea. Or walk back in time through gardens of indigenous plants at the Kula Botanical Garden. Continue to the 30,000-foot summit of Haleakala and you just might meet our state bird, the endangered nene (Hawaiian goose), or stumble across a Haleakala silversword, a rare and beautiful succulent that shimmers in the early light.

At the Iao Needle State Park in Central Maui, the mist descends upon the “needle” giving the historical site an almost mystical feeling, while the adjacent Nature Center offers an easy rainforest hike and a chance to learn about life in ancient Hawaii.

And at the heart, or should we stay the stomach, of Maui’s sustainability efforts are the many island farms and ranches that produce the farm-to-table ingredients that grace our Hawaii Regional Cuisine. From chocolate to goat cheese to mountain-grown coffee, it’s a gourmet’s delight.

Where do you start? Maui offers many farm tours, as well as beaches, whale-watching and other activities. Or simply, take the road less traveled and see what you find.

  • Farm to Table Maui

    Follow the farm to table process by touring the upland farms of Upcountry Maui then dine in the prestigious restaurants of west and south Maui.
    • Hawaii Regional Cuisine on Maui

      Hawaii Regional Cuisine inventively blends Maui’s freshest flavors with the cuisine of the world.
      • Lanai and Molokai Day Trips

        Lanai and Molokai are easily accessible from Maui, with inter-island ferries running daily from Lahaina Harbor.
        • Paniolo of Maui

          Paniolo are Hawaiian cowboys and their traditions continue to live on today in places like Makawao in Upcountry Maui.