Oahu Historic Places | Go Hawaii
Historic Places

Historische Stätten

Scrollen Sie nach unten, um fortzufahren

Historische Stätten auf Oahu

Oahu war der Sitz der hawaiianischen Monarchie, der Geburtsort des modernen Surfen sowie des „Big Wave Surfing“ und der Wendepunkt für die Geschehnisse des Zweiten Weltkrieges. Entdecken Sie die historischen Orte von Oahu und erfahren Sie, warum Hawaii mehr als Sonne, Sand und Surfen zu bieten hat.

Zusammenfassung der Geschichte von Oahu
Von der hawaiianischen Monarchie zum Angriff auf Pearl Harbor: Die Geschichte von Oahu hat bedeutenden Einfluss auf ganz Hawaii. Im Jahr 1795 führte König Kamehameha I. seine Truppen in den legendären Battle of Nuuanu, was zur Eroberung von Oahu und der eventuellen Vereinigung der hawaiianischen Inseln unter einer Herrschaft im Jahr 1810 führte.

Auf Kamehameha the Great folgten sieben hawaiianische Monarchen. König Kamehameha III. (Kauikeaouli) hat die Regierung des hawaiianischen Königreichs permanent auf Oahu etabliert. Königin Liliuokalani war die letzte herrschende Monarchin in Hawaii, nachdem amerikanische Kolonisten das hawaiianische Königreich in einem kontroversen Staatstreich 1893 zum Sturz brachten. 1898 wurde Hawaii zum Gebiet der Vereinigten Staaten.

Zur Blütezeit der Landwirtschaft im späten 19. Jahrhundert hatten Plantagenbesitzer zu wenig Arbeitskräfte. Einwanderer aus Japan, China, Korea, Puerto Rico, Portugal, Russland und den Philippinen kamen zur Arbeit auf den Plantagen. Heute ist diese Mischung aus ethnischen Gruppen die Quelle der multikulturellen Bevölkerung von Hawaii. Besucher können im Plantation Village in Waipahu in diese Ära zurückreisen.Wenn Sie zur historischen Stadt Haleiwa fahren, können Sie immer noch den Schornstein der Waialua Sugar Mill sehen.

Tourismus in Hawaii begann im frühen 20. Jahrhundert. Das Moana Hotel wurde 1901 am Strand in Waikiki eröffnet. Heute ist das Westin Moana Surfrider das älteste Resort in Hawaii, das noch geöffnet ist. Der Aloha Tower wurde 1926 eröffnet und war vier Jahrzehnte das höchste Gebäude in Hawaii. Heute ist der Turm eine historische Sehenswürdigkeit in Honolulu und beherbergt ein Einkaufszentrum im Freien und einen Marktplatz mit Restaurants. Das berühmte Royal Hawaiian Hotel wurde 1927 eröffnet und trägt den Spitznamen „Pink Palace“.

Am Morgen des 7. Dezember 1941 griff die Kaiserliche Japanische Marine Pearl Harbor an und führte dazu, dass Amerika am Zweiten Weltkrieg teilnahm. 1959 wurde Hawaii zum 50. Staat der Vereinigten Staaten. Das Hawaii State Capitol wurde 1969 in Downtown Honolulu hinter dem Iolani-Palast fertiggestellt.


Kultur- und Naturerbe auf Oahu
Es gibt neun Heritage Sites of Hawaii auf Oahu. Diese dienen als Erinnerung an die bedeutenden historischen, kulturellen und ökologischen Beiträge sowie die Bräuche, Ansichten und Praktiken der Ureinwohner von Hawaii.

Diamond Head (Leahi) State Monument
Sie können zum Krater dieses bekannten Wahrzeichens wandern und die Panoramaaussicht auf Waikiki und Honolulu genießen.

Pearl Harbor
Die fünf Pearl Harbor Historic Sites gedenken diesem National Historic Landmark mit Monumenten und Freilichtmuseen. Am WWII Valor im Pacific National Monument fand am 7. Dezember 1941 der Angriff auf Pearl Harbor statt. An diesem Tag traten die Vereinigten Staaten dem Zweiten Weltkrieg bei.

Das USS Arizona Memorial ist die bekannteste Gedenkstätte. Es gibt aber noch vier weitere Pearl Harbor Historic Sites. Dazu zählen das Battleship Missouri Memorial, das USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park, das Pacific Aviation Museum und das USS Oklahoma Memorial.

Sie können auch die vielseitige Militärgeschichte von Hawaii an vielen Orten auf Oahu nachzeichnen. Das U.S. Army Museum of Hawaii in Waikiki erzählt die Kriegsgeschichte in Hawaii von König Kamehameha bis heute. ​Zwei der ältesten Hotels in Waikiki, das Moana Surfrider und das Royal Hawaiian Hotel, waren beliebte Erholungsorte für Soldaten während des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Sogar der berühmte Leahi (Diamond Head) wurde zur Küstenverteidigung auf Oahu genutzt. Insgesamt wurden auf dem Diamond Head State Monument zwischen 1910 und 1943 fünf Militäraufstellungen errichtet, deren Überreste Sie heute noch sehen können.

National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Dieser Friedhof liegt am Punchbowl Crater und ist mit mehr als 49.000 Begräbnissen, darunter mehr als 13.000 Soldaten und Seeleute, die im Zweiten Weltkrieg gestorben sind, einer der bekanntesten Friedhöfe der Nation. Jedes Jahr wird der Friedhof von fünf Millionen Besuchern aufgesucht, die den Verstorbenen gedenken. Die Aussichtsplattform des Denkmals bietet auch einen herrlichen Blick auf Honolulu.

Iolani Palace State Monument
König Kalakaua, auch als „Merrie Monarch“ bekannt, lies den majestätischen Iolani-Palast in Downtown Honolulu errichten. Der 1882 fertig gestellte Palast ist die einzige offizielle königliche Staatsresidenz in den Vereinigten Staaten. Das Gelände und die Galerien des Palasts sind als Museum für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Die berühmte Statue von König Kamehameha I. befindet sich direkt gegenüber.

Nuuanu Pali State Wayside (Pali Lookout)
Am Nuuanu Pali Lookout fand die Battle of Nuuanu statt. Hier genießen Sie die Aussicht auf die üppige Windward Coast und die Koolau Mountains. Auf diesen steilen Klippen gewann König Kamehameha I. einen entscheidenden Kampf, der ihm bei der Eroberung der Insel Oahu half.

Ka Iwi State Scenic Shoreline (Makapuu Trail)
Wandern Sie den 1,6 km langen Makapuu Point Lighthouse Trail zu diesem malerischen Ort an der östlichsten Spitze von Oahu und genießen Sie die atemberaubende Aussicht und beobachten Sie Wale im Winter.

Queen Emma Summer Palace
Die Sommerresidenz von Königin Emma, Ehefrau von Kamehameha IV. im Nuuanu Valley ist auch als Hanaiakamalama bekannt. Das heutige Museum umfasst eine Sammlung ihrer Besitztümer, Möbel und Artefakte.

Bishop Museum
Das Bishop Museum ist die beste Einrichtung für Natur- und Kulturgeschichte im Pazifik und ist weltweit wegen seiner Forschungsprojekte, öffentlichen Bildungsprogramme und Kulturausstellungen bekannt. Dazu zählt eine einzigartige, unvergleichliche Sammlung an hawaiianischen Kulturartefakten.

Washington Place
Dieses sagenumwobene Herrenhaus ist besser bekannt als das Zuhause von Königin Liliuokalani, die letzte regierende Monarchin von Hawaii. Das Gebäude befindet sich in Downtown Honolulu im Herzen des Hawaii Capital Historic District und ist ein registriertes National Historic Landmark.

In der Nähe finden Sie außerdem moderne Sehenswürdigkeiten wie das Hawaii State Capitol und Honolulu Hale mit der Stadtverwaltung und dem Bürgermeisteramt. Das Hawaiian Mission Houses Museum liegt östlich von der Kawaiahao Church und zeigt drei Missionarshäuser, die in New England gebaut und nach Oahu geschickt wurden.

 

Erfahren Sie mehr darüber wo Sie Statuen hawaiianischer Helden finden

Mehr erfahren

Historische Stätten auf Oahu

Bitte beachten Sie: Wir entschuldigen uns für etwaige Unannehmlichkeiten, aber unsere bevorzugten Business-Angebote sind nur auf Englisch.
Filter Results
showing 1 - 10 of 11
Ultimate Circle tour
Oahu
Oahu Nature Tours
1649 Kalakaua Ave. #201
Honolulu, HI 96826
Summary

Join Oahu's original eco-tour company for a fun and educational hiking or sightseeing adventure. Spectacular scenery, excellent photographic opportunities, and information about the geology, archaeology, mythology and history of Hawaii await you on our half-day and full-day adventures.

Websites

Historic Places

Scroll to Continue

Oahu Historic Places

Oahu was the home of the Hawaiian monarchy, the birthplace of modern and big-wave surfing and the tipping point in the United States involvement in World War II. Explore the historic places of Oahu and see why there’s more to Hawaii than just sun, sand and surf.
 
Brief History of Oahu
From the Hawaiian monarchy to the attack on Pearl Harbor, an exploration of Oahu’s history reflects the key influences that have impacted all of Hawaii. In 1795, King Kamehameha I led his forces in the legendary Battle of Nuuanu, which resulted in the conquering of Oahu and the eventual unification of the Hawaiian Islands under one rule in 1810.
 
Seven Hawaiian monarchs followed after Kamehameha the Great. King Kamehameha III (Kauikeaouli) permanently established the Hawaiian Kingdom’s government on Oahu. Queen Liliuokalani was Hawaii’s last reigning monarch after American colonists overthrew the Hawaiian Kingdom in a controversial coup in 1893. In 1898, Hawaii became a territory of the United States.
 
As agriculture boomed in the late 19th century, plantation owners found themselves in the midst of a labor shortage. Immigrants from Japan, China, Korea, Puerto Rico, Portugal, Russia and the Philippines arrived to work in the plantations. Today, this mix of ethnicities is the source of Hawaii’s multicultural population. Visitors can step backward in time to explore this era at Waipahu’s Plantation Village. You can also still see the smoke stack of the old Waialua Sugar Mill as you drive toward historic Haleiwa town.
 
Hawaii’s visitor industry began to grow in the early 1900s. In 1901, the Moana Hotel opened on the beach in Waikiki. Today, the Westin Moana Surfrider is Hawaii’s oldest resort still in operation. The Aloha Tower opened in 1926, and was the tallest building in Hawaii for four decades. It’s now a historic Honolulu landmark and home to an outdoor shopping and dining marketplace. In 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian Hotel opened and was nicknamed the “Pink Palace.”
 
On the morning of December 7, 1941, the Imperial Japanese Navy attacked Pearl Harbor pushing America into World War II. In 1959, Hawaii became the 50th state of the United States. Completed in 1969, the Hawaii State Capitol is located in Downtown Honolulu, behind Iolani Palace.
 
Oahu Heritage Sites
There are nine Heritage Sites of Hawaii on Oahu, serving as destinations that showcase significant historical, cultural and environmental contributions and encapsulate Native Hawaiian customs, beliefs and practices.
 
Diamond Head (Leahi) State Monument
One of Hawaii’s most recognized natural landmarks, you can hike to the top of the crater for panoramic views of Waikiki and Honolulu.
 
Pearl Harbor
Five Pearl Harbor Historic Sites honor this National Historic Landmark with amazing memorials and living museums. WWII Valor in the Pacific National Monument is where the attack of Pearl Harbor took place on December 7, 1941, marking the beginning of U.S. involvement in World War II.
 
Best known for the USS Arizona Memorial, there are four other Pearl Harbor Historic Sites to experience, including the Battleship Missouri Memorial, the USS Bowfin Submarine Museum & Park, the Pacific Aviation Museum and the USS Oklahoma Memorial.
 
Today, you can also walk in the footsteps of Hawaii’s rich military past at locations throughout Oahu. In Waikiki, the U.S. Army Museum of Hawaii chronicles the history of warfare in Hawaii from King Kamehameha to today. Two of Waikiki’s most historic hotels, the Moana Surfrider and the Royal Hawaiian Hotel were popular rest and recreation stops for soldiers during WWII. Even iconic Leahi (Diamond Head) was used for the coastal defense of Oahu. A total of five military batteries were built atop Diamond Head State Monument between 1910 and 1943, the remains of which are still visible.
 
National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific
Located at Punchbowl Crater, this is one of the nation’s most prominent national cemeteries, with more than 49,000 internments — including more than 13,000 soldiers and sailors who died during World War II. Over 5 million visitors come to pay their respects here each year. The memorial lookouts also offer panoramic views of Honolulu.
 
Iolani Palace State Monument
King Kalakaua, also known as the Merrie Monarch, built the majestic Iolani Palace in Downtown Honolulu. Dedicated in 1882, it is the only official state residence of royalty in the United States. The palace’s grounds and galleries are now open to the public as a museum. The iconic King Kamehameha I statue stands just across the street.
 
Nuuanu Pali State Wayside (Pali Lookout)
Overlooking the lush Windward Coast and the majestic Koolau mountain range, the Nuuanu Pali Lookout was the site of the Battle of Nuuanu. It was here, high atop these sheer cliffs, that King Kamehameha I won a decisive battle that helped him conquer the island of Oahu.
 
Ka Iwi State Scenic Shoreline (Makapuu Trail)
Hike the one-mile Makapuu Point Lighthouse Trail to this scenic point on Oahu’s eastern-most tip for incredible views and whale watching during the winter.
 
Queen Emma Summer Palace
Known as Hanaiakamalama, the summer retreat in the Nuuanu Valley of Queen Emma  — wife of King Kamehameha IV — is now a museum that houses a collection of her belongings, furnishings and artifacts.
 
Bishop Museum
The premier natural and cultural history institution in the Pacific region, Bishop Museum is known through the world for its research projects, public education programs and cultural exhibits — including a unique and unparalleled collection of Hawaii cultural artifacts.
 
Washington Place
Most commonly known as the home of Queen Liliuokalani, Hawaii’s last reigning monarch, this storied mansion sits in Downtown Honolulu in the heart of the Hawaii Capital Historic District and is a registered National Historic Landmark.
 
Nearby, you’ll find modern landmarks like the Hawaii State Capitol and Honolulu Hale, home to the city council and mayor’s office. Just east of Kawaiahao Church, the Hawaiian Mission Houses Museum displays three missionary homes built in New England and shipped to Oahu.

Read More About Where to Find Statues of Hawaii's Heroes

Read More

Historic Places on Oahu

Filter Results
showing 1 - 10 of 10
Pacific Historic Parks logo
Oahu
Pacific Historic Parks
94-1187 Ka Uka Blvd.
Waipahu, HI 96797
Summary

Pacific Historic Parks operates the USS Arizona Memorial Narrated Tour, Virtual Reality Tours, Pearl Harbor Visitor Center Tours and the Arizona Memorial Museum Store. At Diamond Head, our firm runs the Diamond Head Visitor Center and the Diamond Head Tour. At Kalaupapa, we run the Gift Store.

Websites
Ultimate Circle tour
Oahu
Oahu Nature Tours
1649 Kalakaua Ave. #201
Honolulu, HI 96826
Summary

Join Oahu's original eco-tour company for a fun and educational hiking or sightseeing adventure. Spectacular scenery, excellent photographic opportunities, and information about the geology, archaeology, mythology and history of Hawaii await you on our half-day and full-day adventures.

Websites