Scroll to Continue

Island of Hawaii Regions

The largest island in the Hawaiian Island chain is also the youngest. The island of Hawaii, known as "The Big Island," is separated into 6 main regions: Hamakua Coast, Hilo, Kau, Kona, Kohala and Puna. Explore each region and plan your ideal trip to the island of Hawaii. 

Regions of the Island of Hawaii

Hamakua Coast

If you’re driving along the Hamakua Coast be sure to stop to explore some of its hidden gems, including taro farms, black sand beaches, splendid waterfalls and more.

Explore More


The perfect place to explore local shops, a famous farmers market, beautiful beaches and dramatic waterfalls.

Explore More


See dramatic features such as lava trees and molds at Lava Trees State Park and swim in volcanically heated tide pools.

Explore More


See an active volcano at Hawaii Volcanoes National park and learn how the Hawaiian Islands were formed.

Explore More


Bright blue water, abundant resorts, coffee tastings, and unique historical and cultural landmarks — your options are plentiful.

Explore More


The island of Hawaii is often called the “Golf Capital of Hawaii” because of the renowned courses found along the Kohala Coast.

Explore More

Get a Free Island of Hawaii Travel Planner Guide

Order a Guide